

2024 TENNESSEE PRIMARY ELECTION UPDATE

Tennessee Primaries were held on August 1, 2024. While the general election is not until November 5th, we know there will at least be eleven new faces in the General Assembly after the primary results. You can view a full breakdown of the primary results on the <u>Secretary of State's website</u>.

Federal Races Overview

There were a lot of eyes on Tennessee's Fifth Congressional District as first term Rep. Andy Ogles was being challenged in the Republican Primary by Metro Council Member Courtney Johnston. Ultimately, the race ended not as close as expected and all members of the Tennessee Congressional Delegation won their primaries.

Senator Marsha Blackburn won her primary against challenger Tres Wittum handily and will face current state representative Gloria Johnson in the general election.

State Senate Races

In the Senate, there will be at least three new faces in the body come January. With one retirement and two incumbent losses in the Primary.

Senate District 2

Senate District 2 (Blount, Monroe, Polk and Bradley Counties) is a vacant seat after the retirement of State Senator Art Swann. The Republican primary was a three-way fight between Tom Hatcher, Bryan Richey and John Pullias. Tom Hatcher was victorious in the race winning nearly 73% of the vote. Hatcher has served as Blount County Circuit Court Clerk for nearly 30 years and spent over a decade serving in Blount County's Sheriff's Office. He will face Democrat Patti Young in the November General Election.

Senate District 4

Senate District 4 (Hawkins and Sullivan Counties) has been held by incumbent Jon Lundberg since 2017. In the primary, Lundberg lost to challenger Bobby Harshbarger by about 4% of the vote. Harshbarger, who is the son of US Congresswoman Diana Harshbarger, is a pharmacist in the community. Harshbarger will be unopposed in the November General Election.

Senate District 8

Senate District 8 (Claiborne, Grainger, Hancock, Jefferson, Sevier and Union Counties) has been held by incumbent Frank Niceley since 2013. In the primary, Niceley was defeated by challenger Jessie Seal by nearly 12% of the vote. Seal works as a PR Director for a medical facility. Seal will square off against Democrat R. E. Ellison in the General Election.

State House Races

Primary Night in Tennessee ended with at least 9 new faces coming to the Tennessee State House. While seven seats were contested after retirements, there were two incumbents who lost their primary bids.

House District 4

House District 4 (Unicoi and part of Carter Counties) was an open seat after the retirement of Rep. John Holsclaw. The Republican Primary saw two candidates facing off: Curt Alexander versus Renea Jones. Ultimately, Renea Jones was victorious with around 68% of the vote. Jones, the president of Jones and Church Farms, will be unopposed in the November General Election.

House District 12

House District 12 (Part of Sevier County) was an open seat after the retirement of Rep. Dale Carr. The Republican Primary was a three race between Fred Atchley, Christian Brown and Larry Linton. Atchley was victorious in the match up with nearly 71% of the vote. Atchley, a long-time county commissioner, will square off against Democrat Leslie Braddock in the General Election.

House District 20

House District 20 (Part of Blount County) was an open seat after Rep. Bryan Richey decided to run for State Senate District 2. Tom Stinnett, a Blount County Commissioner, was ultimately victorious, with 35% of the vote, in a three way match up against Jason Emert and fellow county commissioner Nick Bright. Stinnett will face off against Karen Gertz in the General Election.

House District 27

House District 27 (Part of Hamilton County) has been held by Incumbent Patsy Hazlewood since 2015. Hazlewood has served as the chair of the powerful House Finance Committee for several years. She lost her primary bid to challenger Michele Reneau by 137 votes. Reneau will face Democrat Kathy Lennon in the General Election.

House District 33

House District 33 (Part of Anderson County) has been held by Incumbent John Ragan since 2011. Ragan has served as the Chair of the House Government Operations Committee for several years. Ragan lost to challenger Rick Scarbrough by around 4% of the vote. Scarbrough, the former police chief of Clinton, TN, will face off against Democrat Anne Backus in the General Election.

House District 60

House District 60 (Part of Davidson County) has been held by Rep. Darren Jernagin since 2013. Jernagin is retiring from the State House to take a job in the administration of Nashville Mayor Freddie O'Connell. House District 60 saw competitive primaries on the Republican and Democrat side of the ballot. On the Republican side, Chad Bobo defeated Christoper Huff, while on the Democrat side, Shaundelle Brooks defeated both Tyler Brasher and John Parrish. Talking with leaders on both sides of the aisle, District 60 is set to be a very competitive race in November.

House District 65

With the retirement of Rep. Sam Whitson, House District 65 (Part of Williamson County) saw a very close three-way race in the Republican Primary. Ultimately, Lee Reeves, who was endorsed by Gov. Bill Lee, was successful with 37.55% of the vote. Reeves, an attorney, will face off against Democrat Larhonda Williams in November.

House District 68

With the retirement of long-time Representative Curtis Johnson, House District 68 (Part of Montgomery County) saw a tightly contested Republican Primary. While there were four candidates in the race, it ultimately came down to two candidates in Aron Maberry and Joe Smith. Maberry was victorious with 43.33% of the vote. Maberry, a pastor, was endorsed by Gov. Bill Lee and will face Garfield Scott in the November election.

House District 96

House District 96 (Part of Shelby County) has been held by Rep. Dwayne Thompson since 2017. With the announcement of his retirement, House District 96 saw Gabby Salinas defeat four other candidates with 43.94% of the vote. Salinas, a researcher at St. Jude, will be unopposed in the November General Election.

While folks were watching a few other General Assembly primaries, ultimately, all other incumbents were successful in their primary bids.