

2020 Tennessee General Election Results

President:

As the nation awaits to see who the next President will be Tennessee was quickly called for President Trump Tuesday evening. Though the President underperformed in Tennessee compared to his numbers in 2016, he still decidedly carried the State with 61% of the vote. Joe Biden carried only three counties in Tennessee: Davidson, Shelby and Haywood.

U.S. Senate:

Just as Tennessee voting Red for President Trump was no surprise; it was no surprise that Republican Bill Hagerty won big against Democrat Marquita Bradshaw. Bill Hagerty will replace retiring Senator Lamar Alexander. Bill Hagerty is a lifelong Tennessean who has filled various roles in the private sector with a great deal of success and has served as Tennessee Economic and Community Development Commission under Governor Haslam and U.S. Ambassador to Japan under President Trump. Hagerty received the endorsement of President Trump and defeated Dr. Manny Sethi in the primary.

U.S. House:

All eight of Tennessee's incumbents were re-elected with little opposition. Tennessee will have a new face in Congress in Diana Harshbarger, who won the Republican Primary for Congressional District 1 to fill the seat left open by retiring Congressman Phil Roe. Diana is a pharmacist from Kingsport.

State Senate:

Senate District 20:

Senator Steve Dickerson, a Republican from Nashville was defeated by Democrat Heidi Campbell, mayor of Oak Hill. Experts knew this race would be close as the district is a democrat district by close to 9 points. Though Senator Dickerson was a left leaning Republican, his voting record was not enough to save him from the anti-Trump voter turnout seen in Davidson County. This race does give the Democrats a gain of one seat in the Senate, still leaving the Republicans with a supermajority of 27-6. Senator Dickerson chaired the Senate State and Local Government Committee.

Senate District 26:

Page Walley, a Republican from Bolivar, was elected to fill the seat left open by retiring Senate Education Chair Delores Gresham. This will not be Page's first stint in the General Assembly as he has previously served as State Representative. Page is a clinical psychologist, minister and author and has also served as Mayor of Bolivar.

State House:

Neither the Democrats nor the Republicans experienced a gain in seats in this year's election leaving Republicans with a supermajority of 73-26. However, there will be some new faces on Capitol Hill in the 112th General Assembly.

House District 3:

Republican Representative Timothy Hill left this seat after an unsuccessful run for Congress in Tennessee's 1st Congressional District. Scotty Campbell defeated Neal Kearney in the primary and ran unopposed in the General to return to the Capitol. Campbell is a former morning radio show host from Mountain City who has previously represented this district in the State House. Campbell served one term before deciding to not run for re-election.

House District 6:

Tim Hicks a Republican from Gray, Tennessee defeated incumbent Micah Van Huss in the primary and Brad Batt in the General. Hicks is a homebuilder with his family business and current member of the Washington County Planning Commission. Hicks is the son of former state representative, Bobby Hicks.

House District 7:

After defeating Republican Matthew Hill, a sixteen year incumbent, in the primary and running unopposed in the General, Rebecca Keefauver Alexander will represent HD7. Alexander is a professional story teller and she and her husband operate a funeral home in Jonesborough.

House District 15:

Democrat Sam Mckenzie won a three way primary to defeat incumbent Rick Staples and defeated Independent Troy B. Jones in the General. McKenize is retired from Oak Ridge National Laboratory and a former commissioner for Knox County and Knoxville Utility Board.

House District 16:

Speaker Pro Tem Bill Dunn retired from public service since serving in the House of Representatives since 1995. Republican Michelle Carringer defeated Patti Lou Bounds in the Primary and Democrat Elizabeth Rowland in the General. Carringer is the current vice chairman of the Knox County Commission.

House District 18:

In a close race to replace Republican Martin Daniel, Eddie Mannis beat out Gina Oster by 99 votes in the Primary Election and Democrat Virginia Couch in the General Election. Mannis is the owner of a successful dry cleaning company in Knoxville. Mannis has served as Chief Operating Officer for the City of Knoxville, Chairman of the Knoxville Airport Authority and Chairman of the Knoxville Zoo.

House District 76:

Representative Andy Holt announced his retirement from the Legislature and five republicans signed up for the opportunity to fill the seat. Tandy Darby of Greenfield was the victor in the five way primary and defeated Independent Jeff Washburn in the General. Darby works at Akin & Porter Produce and has served on the board for the Weakley County Chamber of Commerce and Weakly County Economic Development Board.

House District 90:

Longtime Democrat Incumbent, John Deberry was removed from the Democrat ballot for the Primary election given his pro-life and pro-school choice ideologies. Deberry did run as an independent in the General Election, however, he only received 23% of the vote. Deberry lost to Democrat Torrey Harris, a progressive who will be the state's youngest lawmaker. Harris is a human resources professional from Memphis.

House District 92:

Republican Incumbent Rick Tillis lost by 600 votes to Challenger, Todd Warner. Warner is a row crop farmer from Chapel Hill, who has served on the Marshall County school board and as an Alderman for the City of Chapel Hill. Warner ran without opposition in the General Election.

House District 97:

This seat is open following Republican Jim Coley's retirement from the House of Representatives. Many knew this race would be close and some thought the district may flip parties, however Republican John Gillespie defeated Democrat Gabby Salinas in close race with 51% of the vote. Gillespie is a grant writer from Memphis.

For complete results, visit The Secretary of State's website here: https://elections.tn.gov/results.php