Races where incumbents were defeated:

House District 6:

Republican Incumbent Micah Van Huss was running for his fifth term in office, but was soundly defeated by Tim Hicks of Gray, TN. Hicks is a homebuilder with his family business, a current member of the Washington County Planning Commission, and the son of former state representative Bobby Hicks. Hicks will face Democrat Brad Batt in the General Election.

House District 7:

Republican Matthew Hill, a 16-year incumbent, lost to Rebecca Keefauver Alexander. Alexander is a professional storyteller; she and her husband operate a funeral home in Jonesborough. Alexander will run unopposed in the General Election.

House District 15:

Democrat Incumbent Rick Staples finished third in the Democratic Primary. Sam McKenzie narrowly beat out second place challenger, Matthew Park. Only 23 votes separated the two. McKenzie is retired from Oak Ridge National Laboratory and a former commissioner for Knox County and Knoxville Utility Board. McKenzie will face Independent Troy B. Jones in the General Election.

House District 92:

Republican incumbent Rick Tillis lost by 600 votes to challenge Todd Warner. Warner is a row-crop farmer from Chapel Hill who has served on the Marshall County school board and as an Alderman for the City of Chapel Hill. Warner will run without opposition in the General Election.

Open Seats:

House District 3:

Representative Timothy Hill leaves this seat after an unsuccessful run for Congress in Tennessee’s 1st Congressional District. In the Republican Primary, Scotty Campbell will return to the Capitol after defeating Neal Kearney. Campbell is a former morning radio show host from Mountain City who has previously represented this district in the State House. Campbell served one term before deciding not to run for reelection. No Democrat candidate will appear on the ballot in November.

House District 16:

This seat is currently held by Speaker Pro Tem Bill Dunn. Dunn is retiring from public service after serving in the House of Representatives since 1995. Michelle Carringer defeated Patti Lou Bounds in the Primary. Carringer is the current vice chair of the Knox County Commission and will face Democrat Elizabeth Rowland in the November election.

House District 18:

In a close race to replace Martin Daniel, Eddie Mannis beat out Gina Oster by 99 votes. Mannis is the owner of a successful dry-cleaning company in Knoxville. He has served as Chief Operating Officer for the City of Knoxville, Chairman of the Knoxville Airport Authority, and Chairman of the Knoxville Zoo.  Mannis will face Virginia Couch in the General Election.

House District 76:

Representative Andy Holt announced his retirement from the Legislature and five Republicans signed up for the opportunity to fill the seat. Tandy Darby of Greenfield was the victor in the five-way primary.  Darby works at Akin & Porter Produce and has served on the board for the Weakley County Chamber of Commerce and Weakley County Economic Development Board. Darby will face Independent Jeff Washburn in November.

House District 90:

Torrey Harris beat two other Democrats in the primary after longtime Incumbent John DeBerry was removed from the Democratic Ballot by the Democratic State Executive Committee. This will be a race to watch in November as DeBerry will appear on the ballot as an Independent.

House District 97:

This seat is open following Jim Coley’s retirement from the House. John Gillespie beat Brandon Weise in the Republican Primary. Gabby Salinas defeated three other Democratic challengers. Gillespie is a grant writer from Memphis. Salinas works for St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. She unsuccessfully challenged State Senator Brian Kelsey in 2018.

Senate District 26:

Senate Education Chair Dolores Gresham retired after being elected to this seat in 2008. Page Walley defeated Jai Templeton in the Republican Primary. Walley, a clinical psychologist and minster, has previously served in the House and as Commissioner of Tennessee Department of Children Services and Alabama Departments of Human Services and Children’s Affairs. Walley currently serves as vice mayor of Bolivar. Walley will face Democrat Civil Miller-Watkins in November.

Other races of note:

U.S. Senate:

Bill Haggerty defeated Dr. Manny Sethi in the Republican Primary. Haggerty is a former Commissioner of Tennessee Economic and Community Development under Governor Haslam and former Ambassador to Japan under President Trump.

In a surprise upset, Democrat Marquita Bradshaw won over well-funded veteran and DSCC-endorsed James Mackler.

U.S. House District 1:

Diana Harshbarger, a pharmacist from Sullivan County, won a 16-person primary to replace Phil Roe in the Republican Primary. Harshbarger will face Democrat Blair Walsingham in November.

For complete results, visit the Secretary of State’s website here:  https://elections.tn.gov/results.php